Is this project still alive?

Jul 12, 2013 at 7:24 AM
Hi,

I noticed the latest release is from June 2012 and that there are not further releases planned.
Has this project died or has it matured and is it thus stable to use in DTAP?

Regards,

Kris
Jul 12, 2013 at 12:53 PM
I don't know what DTAP is. I see little activity on this project but I will say that I've been using it for a few years now and recently upgraded to TFS 2012 and it still works fine.

I wish MS would take over this and make it's functionality officially supported because it's an important enterprise piece. Or better yet, have it taken over by a vendor that will develop it further and support it.
Jul 12, 2013 at 5:00 PM
I support tbeaulieu in his statements. Although the code base has not changed much, it has enough functionality in it to be very useful and designed well enough that changes are not necessary. I would recoment adding issues for features that you may need, or event take a stab at extending it for your purposes and sharing your work.

Thanks
Coordinator
Jul 15, 2013 at 12:09 AM
Hi all,

TFS Deployer was recently updated to support TFS 2012 on-premises instances and is being used reliably in a number of Production scenarios.

I personally do not intend to continue to support TFS Deployer any further unless critical bugs are discovered in the current version.

For many years TFS Deployer filled a niche that had very few alternatives. In recent months, automated deployment has received much more attention in the industry and we are seeing several new products enter the market that I believe can provide a better experience than TFS Deployer could, even if I had more time to develop it.

Alternatives to consider moving to:
If you're looking to move to TFS 2013 or the Microsoft-hosted Team Foundation Service, plan to move away from TFS Deployer.

However, TFS Deployer is open source, others are welcome to continue supporting it.

Regards,

Jason
Feb 14, 2014 at 4:02 PM
Hi Jason,